December 31st, 2005

flock

Sic transit...

I guess I've officially turned into an old fogey; I don't try to stay up until midnight, and don't care to go out and make myself a target for drunken idiots who think they can drive. A local pub with pretensions of being British has a two-stage New Year's celebration, the first part occurring at 6:00 p.m. Central Standard, and hence at midnight GMT/UTC. I could go for doing just the first part and then getting to bed at a decent hour.

That said, I found myself awake a little before 11:00 p.m. Central Time = midnight Eastern, when the Waterford Crystal ball descends in Times Square. I figured I'd check it out, and tuned in around 10:50 p.m.

There was a guy on who sounded like he was with the Organization Formerly Known as WWF, and I wondered what the heck ABC thought it was doing... until I looked, and saw the face of America's Oldest Teenager, Dick Clark. Oh, yeah... there was something on about his post-stroke return to the New Year's Eve gig.

A few seconds later, I correlated the motion and the sound, and my jaw dropped.

How sad.
  • Current Mood
    depressed depressed